North Texas 23: Thing 6 – Blog Readers

I followed the instructions on the North Texas 23 page (http://northtexas23.blogspot.com/2009/05/thing-6-blog-readers.html) and found signing up for Google Reader to be fairly easy and painless.  However, I did not have a Google account, although I had saved a note file that indicated that I did.  Therefore, I had to sign up again, and found that Google uses the evil Captcha mechanism (the tangled letters that have to be re-typed correctly) as the final step in its process.

I don’t have a severe visual disability and it still took three tries for me to log on successfully!  They do have the ‘handicapped accessible” option which will speak the letters, but this is still very annoying.  The American Foundation for the Blind’s article “Are Social Networking Sites Accessible to People with Vision Loss?” comments on the issues involving a number of sites (http://www.afb.org/Section.asp?SectionID=57&TopicID=167&DocumentID=3153).   AFB gives an approving nod to Google’s Blogger and I assume, Reader, for using the “handicapped accessible” spoken feature. As I encounter the other sites they mention, I will see if any modifications have been made in favor of universal accessibility.

0 Responses to “North Texas 23: Thing 6 – Blog Readers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

